FAQ

Who are MOOCs for?

The online courses are flexible in terms of time, are independent of location, and are aimed at the public, although varying types of prior knowledge are required for each MOOC. The MOOCs can be taken as preparation for a degree course, or as a supplement to it.

How much does it cost to participate in a MOOC?

Participation is free. Obtaining a certificate, and participation in the tasks and exams required to obtain it, are voluntary and subject to a fee. Coursera offers financial support in cases of hardship.

Do I need to be matriculated at UZH to take part in a MOOC?

Nothing – MOOCs are open to all interested learners. They are online courses that allow you to take part in innovative and research-based education without any formal requirements, e.g. without a high school graduation certificate. By participating in a MOOC, you do not enter into any legal relationship with UZH.

Will I receive a MOOC certificate from UZH?

No, the Course Certificate will be issued by the company Coursera, not UZH. A MOOC certificate is not an official UZH document and is not an official UZH assessment.

As a participant, is my personal data protected?

Coursera is a company that has its legal seat in the USA. Coursera collects detailed usage data related to your participation in a MOOC. This is processed and stored in the USA. The USA does not meet the levels of data protection that are considered adequate in Switzerland. In order to use the Coursera platform to participate in a MOOC, you must register on its platform.

To participate in a MOOC, you must consent in advance to Coursera processing your data. For details about this, please read the Terms of Use and the Privacy Policy on the Coursera website.

I am matriculated at UZH. Can my professors access information on my performance in their MOOC?

In accordance with UZH internal regulations, UZH employees are not allowed to evaluate MOOC usage data, whether it concerns UZH participants or not, or to request personal data about UZH participants from Coursera. However, please be aware that, in some cases, the teaching staff can determine the identity of the participants as part of the normal course administration, for example, if you provide your name in discussion forums and peer assessments, or if you post something or submit a piece of work or evaluation.

FAQ

Für wen sind die MOOCs gedacht?

Die zeitlich flexiblen und ortsunabhängigen Online-Kurse richten sich an die Öffentlichkeit, wobei je nach MOOC unterschiedliche Vorkenntnisse erforderlich sind. Die MOOCs können auch als Vorbereitung oder Ergänzung zum Studium besucht werden.

Was kostet die Teilnahme an einem MOOC?

Die Teilnahme ist im Prinzip kostenlos. Die Teilnahme an Aufgaben und Prüfungen, deren Bestehen eine Voraussetzung für den Erwerb eines Zertifikates darstellt, sowie der Erwerb eines Zertifikates sind freiwillig und kostenpflichtig. In Härtefällen offeriert Coursera finanzielle Unterstützung.

Muss ich für die Teilnahme an einem MOOC an der UZH immatrikuliert sein?

Nein, die MOOCs stehen allen interessierten Lernerinnen und Lernern offen. Es sind Online-Kurse, an denen Sie ohne formelle Voraussetzungen wie z.B. einem Maturazeugnis an innovativer und forschungsorientierter Lehre teilhaben können. Zwischen Ihnen als Lerner/in und der UZH entsteht durch die Teilnahme an einem MOOC keine Rechtsbeziehung.

Erhalte ich ein MOOC-Zertifikat von der UZH?

Nein, das Zertifikat («Course Certificate») wird von der Firma Coursera ausgestellt, nicht von der UZH. Ein MOOC-Zertifikat ist kein offizielles Dokument der UZH und stellt keinen offiziellen Leistungsnachweis der UZH dar.

Sind meine persönlichen Daten als Lerner/-in geschützt?

Coursera ist ein Unternehmen mit Sitz in den USA. Im Rahmen der Teilnahme an einem MOOC erhebt Coursera detaillierte Nutzungsdaten. Die Bearbeitung und Speicherung dieser Daten findet in den USA statt. Die USA verfügen im Verhältnis zur Schweiz über kein angemessenes Datenschutzniveau. Um die Plattform von Coursera zur Teilnahme an einem MOOC zu nutzen, müssen Sie sich auf deren Plattform registrieren.

Zur Teilnahme an einem MOOC ist es erforderlich, dass Sie vorab in dei Datenbearbeitung durch Coursera einwilligen. Einzelheiten hierzu entnehmen Sie bitte den Terms of Use und der Privacy Policy auf der Webseite von Coursera.

Ich bin an der UZH immatrikuliert. Sieht meine Professorin, welche Leistungen ich in ihrem MOOC erbringe?

Gemäss UZH-internem Reglement ist es Angestellten der UZH untersagt, MOOC-Nutzungsdaten daraufhin auszuwerten, ob es sich um Studierende der UZH handelt, oder Personendaten über Studierende der UZH von Coursera anzufordern. Seien Sie sich aber bewusst, dass die Dozierenden im Rahmen der üblichen Kursadministration in einigen Fällen die Identität der Lernenden feststellen können. Z.B. geben Sie in den Diskussionsforen und bei Peer Assessments Ihren Namen bekannt, wenn Sie einen Beitrag posten oder eine Arbeit bzw. eine Bewertung einreichen.