Data Privacy

Data Collection and Processing by Coursera

The US company Coursera, which offers the UZH MOOCs on its platform, collects detailed usage data from each participant and stores this on its servers or servers of contracted third parties. The processing of this information is subject to US law; i.e. the applicable data protection is not equivalent to Swiss data protection laws.

We recommend that all participants read Coursera's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy before registering and signing up for a course.

Coursera's Terms of Use
Coursera's Privacy Policy

Data collection and processing by UZH

UZH does not itself collect any data of MOOC participants, but it is able to obtain certain usage data from Coursera. It uses this information within the framework of the privacy policy regulations: for course administration, improvement, and development, as well as for research purposes.

UZH has direct access to some of the data collected by Coursera. This is usually aggregated or non-personal data. In some cases, specifically in discussion forums and peer assessments, personal data becomes available to us if you post something or submit a piece of work or evaluation.

All of this data will be used only for the purpose of managing, optimizing, and further developing the MOOCs in question.

For research purposes, UZH researchers can request more extensive data sets from Coursera through the UZH Data Coordinator. This personal data must only be used for the research projects stated and must be anonymized. The research ethics search results must not allow any conclusions to be drawn about individual persons. The original personal data will be destroyed after the analysis.

All personal information of participants will be saved on UZH systems for a maximum of two years, after which the data will be deleted.

Disclosure of personal data

Personal data will only be communicated to third parties (e.g. to other authorities) if this is required in compliance with mandatory statutory regulations (e.g. government measures, court rulings) or for the purposes of legal action or prosecution. Data will not be given to third parties for any other purposes.

Security

UZH uses technical and organizational security measures to ensure that data it has received from Coursera and further processed

  • remains confidential and is protected from accidental and unlawful access, change, disclosure, loss, and destruction; and
  • access to the data is granted only to those persons who, due to their role and task, have to access the personal data in accordance with the principle of necessity (on a "need-to-know" basis).

The measures to be taken must be appropriate to the type of information, the type and purpose of use, and the state of technology available.

Right to Information

If you would like information on data relating to your person that has been collected and processed, or if you want such data to be corrected, destroyed, or blocked, or if you have further questions on the use of such data, please contact Coursera directly at the following e-mail address:

privacy@coursera.org.

If you would like information on data relating to your person that UZH processes in relation to MOOCs, particularly for the purposes of course improvement and development as well as research projects, please contact the UZH Head of Data Protection. The Delegate can be reached at the following address:

University of Zurich
Department of Data Protection
Stampfenbachstrasse 73
CH-8006 Zurich

Datenschutz

Datenerhebung und -bearbeitung durch Coursera

Die US-Firma Coursera, welche die MOOCs der UZH auf ihrer Plattform anbietet, erhebt jeweils detaillierte Nutzungsdaten der Lernenden und speichert sie auf ihren Servern bzw. auf Servern von beauftragten Dritten. Die Bearbeitung dieser Daten unterliegt US-amerikanischem Recht, d.h. es besteht kein dem Schweizer Recht gleichwertiger Datenschutz.

Wir empfehlen allen Lernenden, sich vor der Registrierung und Kursanmeldung über die Nutzungsbedingungen und Datenschutzrichtlinie von Coursera zu informieren.

Nutzungsbedingungen Coursera (Terms of Use)
Datenschutzrichtlinien Coursera (Privacy Policy)

Datenerhebung und -bearbeitung durch die UZH

Die UZH selbst erhebt keine Daten von MOOC-Lernenden, hat aber die Möglichkeit, von Coursera bestimmte Nutzungsdaten zu beziehen. Sie verwendet diese Daten im Rahmen der geltenden datenschutzrechtlichen Bestimmungen einerseits für die Kursadministration, -verbesserung oder -weiterentwicklung und andererseits für Forschungszwecke.

Auf einen Teil der von Coursera erhobenen Daten kann die UZH direkt zugreifen. Hierbei handelt es sich meist um aggregierte bzw. nicht personenbezogene Daten. In einigen Fällen, namentlich in den Diskussionsforen und bei Peer Assessments, geben Sie uns gegenüber Personendaten bekannt, wenn Sie einen Beitrag posten oder eine Arbeit bzw. Bewertung einreichen.

All diese Daten werden ausschliesslich zum Zweck der Kursbetreuung oder -optimierung resp. -weiterentwicklung des jeweiligen MOOCs verwendet.

Umfassendere Datensätze für Forschungszwecke können Forschende der UZH via den UZH-Datenkoordinator bei Coursera anfordern. Die so erhaltenen Personendaten dürfen nur für die angegebenen Forschungsvorhaben verwendet werden und müssen anonymisiert werden. Das Forschungsergebnis darf keine Rückschlüsse auf betroffene Personen zulassen. Die ursprünglichen Personendaten werden nach der Auswertung vernichtet.

Sämtliche Personendaten von Lernenden werden maximal zwei Jahre auf Systemen der UZH gespeichert, danach werden die Daten gelöscht.

Bekanntgabe von Personendaten

Personendaten werden ausschliesslich dann an Dritte (z.B. an andere Behörden) bekannt gegeben, soweit dies im Rahmen zwingender Rechtsvorschriften (z.B. behördlichen Aufforderungen, Gerichtsbeschlüssen) oder zum Zweck der Rechts- oder Strafverfolgung erforderlich ist. Eine Bekanntgabe an Dritte zu anderen Zwecken findet nicht statt.

Sicherheit

Die UZH setzt technische und organisatorische Sicherheitsmassnahmen ein, damit die Daten, die sie von Coursera erhält und weiter bearbeitet,

  • vertraulich bleiben und vor zufälligen oder unrechtmässigen Zugriffen, Veränderungen oder Offenlegungen sowie vor Verlusten und Zerstörung geschützt werden; und
  • ein Zugriff auf die Daten ausschliesslich nach dem Grundsatz der Erforderlichkeit („Need-to-Know“) denjenigen Personen erteilt wird, die aufgrund ihrer Funktion und Aufgabe auf die Personendaten zugreifen müssen.

Die zu treffenden Massnahmen richten sich nach der Art der Information, nach Art und Zweck der Verwendung und nach dem jeweiligen Stand der Technik.

Auskunftsrecht

Sollten Sie eine Auskunft zu den über Sie erhobenen und weiter bearbeiteten Personendaten oder eine Berichtigung, Vernichtung oder Sperrung dieser Daten wünschen oder weitergehende Fragen zu deren Verwendung haben, wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an Coursera via folgende E-Mail-Adresse:

privacy@coursera.org.

Für Auskünfte zu Personendaten, welche die UZH im Zusammenhang mit MOOCs über Sie bearbeitet, wie insbesondere zum Zwecke von Kursverbesserungen und -weiterentwicklungen sowie von Forschungsvorhaben, wenden Sie sich bitte an den Leiter Abteilung Datenschutzrecht der UZH. Er ist unter folgender Adresse erreichbar:

Universität Zürich
Leiter Abteilung Datenschutzrecht der UZH
Stampfenbachstrasse 73
CH-8006 Zürich