What Are MOOCs?

Open and Freely Accessible

MOOCs (Massive Open Online Courses) are freely accessible online courses created and supervised by a wide range of universities around the world, with large numbers of participants. No degrees, certificates or other formal requirements are necessary to register.

Coursera: Global Market Leader

MOOCs are offered on a range of MOOC platforms. With over 2,000 MOOCs, 145 partner universities worldwide and over 18 million participants (as at March 2016), Coursera is the most popular and largest MOOC platform. UZH also runs its MOOCs via Coursera.

University Level Courses

The MOOCs are closely linked in terms of content to UZH's official study programs. However, the provider of the MOOCs is Coursera. Coursera offers MOOCs created and led by selected universities and other renowned partner institutions.

Video-Based and Interactive

MOOCs are video-based and are supplemented by scripts, interactive learning material, exercises, tests and discussion forums. During the MOOC course, participants complete the lessons at their own learning speed, at times of their own choosing, and in interaction with other students, instructors and mentors. The teaching staff structure the course content and provide new video lectures throughout the course in accordance with each course schedule.

Participation Free, Certification Voluntary

Participation in MOOCs is free of charge. Upon request, participants can voluntarily take exams to receive a Course Certificate from Coursera. An fee is charged for the examinations. The certificates display the logo of the relevant partner university, in order to emphasize that the MOOCs are of university level. However, the sole certificate issuer (and legal partner) is Coursera.

MOOCs: An Ideal Complement to a Degree

Although MOOCs are not official courses offered by the participating universities and are also not treated as such, MOOCs serve as an ideal complement to (or preparation for) a degree course.

Was sind MOOCs?

Offen und frei zugänglich

MOOCs (Massive Open Online Courses) sind frei zugängliche Online-Kurse, die von den verschiedensten Universitäten der Welt zur Verfügung gestellt werden und grosse Teilnehmerzahlen aufweisen. Für die Anmeldung sind keinerlei Abschlüsse, Zertifikate oder sonstige formale Voraussetzungen notwendig.

Coursera ist Weltmarktführer

MOOCs werden auf verschiedenen MOOC-Plattformen zur Verfügung gestellt. Mit über 2000 MOOCs, 145 Partner-Universitäten weltweit und 18+ Mio. Teilnehmenden (Stand März 2016) ist Coursera die bekannteste und grösste MOOC-Plattform. Auch die UZH realisiert ihre MOOCs mit Coursera.

Auf universitärem Niveau

Die MOOCs stehen in engem inhaltlichem Zusammenhang mit dem offiziellen Studienangebot der UZH. Der Anbieter der MOOCs ist jedoch Coursera. Coursera bietet MOOCs an, die von ausgewählten Universitäten und anderen renommierten Partnerinstitutionen produziert und betreut werden.

Videobasiert und interaktiv

MOOCs sind videobasiert und werden durch Skripte, interaktive Lernmaterialien, Aufgaben, Tests und Diskussionsforen ergänzt. Die Teilnehmenden absolvieren die Lektionen während der MOOC-Kurslaufzeit im eigenen Lerntempo, zu selbstgewählten Zeiten und in Interaktion mit anderen Lernenden, Instruktoren und Mentoren. Die Dozierende strukturieren die Lerninhalte und stellen die neuen Videolektionen im Verlauf des Kurses entsprechend dem jeweiligen Kursplan zur Verfügung.

Teilnahme kostenlos, Zertifikate möglich

Die Teilnahme an den MOOCs ist kostenlos. Auf Wunsch können die Teilnehmenden freiwillig Prüfungen ablegen, um ein plattformeigenes Zertifikat zu erwerben. Coursera verlangt für die Absolvierung der Prüfungen und damit den Erwerb eines Zertifikates («Course Certificate») ein Entgelt. Die Zertifikate werden mit dem Logo der jeweiligen Partner-Universität versehen, um das universitäre Niveau des MOOCs deutlich zu machen. Zertifikat-Aussteller (und damit rechtlicher Partner) ist aber allein Coursera.

MOOCs als Ergänzung zum Studium

Obwohl die MOOCs kein offizielles Lehrangebot der jeweiligen Universitäten darstellen und als solche auch nicht angerechnet werden, bieten sich die MOOCs auch als ideale Ergänzung zum Studium – oder als Vorbereitung auf ein ebensolches – an.